An Invisible Thread

An Invisible Thread: The True Story of an 11-Year-Old Panhandler, a Busy Sales Executive, and an Unlikely Meeting with Destiny

An Invisible Thread: The True Story of an 11-Year-Old Panhandler, a Busy Sales Executive, and an Unlikely Meeting with Destiny

By: Laura Schroff

Synopsis: Laura Schroff was hustling down the street when she walked right by young Maurice. And just then, something (an invisible thread, if you will) yanked her backwards and right into Maurice’s life. The close friendship that follows makes for an interesting story and a strong case for the existence of fate.

Thoughts: So what do I do with myself with my last fairly (a.k.a. entirely) empty day left of an internship and I’m running on fumes in my motivation tank? I suppose I kick that nasty procrastination habit and update the old blog! Hopefully that will carry me through to lunch, which will carry me through to my afternoon coffee break, which will carry me through to my afternoon Sudoku session, which will carry me through to the last of my commutes from hell. Just absolutely killing it on life right now, huh?

Ok, so book…book….book…I have to confess that I finished this about two weeks ago. But never fear, this steel trap of a memory is amped up on coffee and about to kick into high gear.  Anywho…

An Invisible Thread was a really lovely and touching story. I feel like I’ve been having a sort of weird, introspective summer and the idea of fate and random connections with people kind of gets me going these days. I loved learning about Maurice’s life – he’s of one of those wise-beyond-his-years little fellas – as well as seeing the positive impact that Laura and Maurice had on each other over the course of the book.

One teeny tiny complaint – I think Schroff’s insistence on telling us every little detail of her life took away from the main point of the story a tad. It wasn’t a terrible thing –just made me sort of zone out during the Laura chapters and zone back in during the Mo-Lo (a.k.a. Maurice/Laura – I’m a wizard with nicknames) chapters.

Overall Grade: B+

Leave a comment

Filed under Best of the Best

Leave a Reply

