Tenth of December

Tenth of December

By: Geroge Saunders

Synopsis: Ummmm….????

Thoughts: Sooo it’s probably not a good sign that I just sat here for 5 minutes trying to remember what book I had finished a mere 4 days ago. And it’s also probably not a good sign that as soon as I remembered the title, my first thought was, “woof”. So I’ll keep this brief because, well…I just don’t want to spend much more brain time with this book.

Basically I struggled with this book for two reasons. First of all, I think George Saunders is a crazy mofo. I mean, I love me some good crazy every now and then, but most of these stories are so far out into la-la-land, I just couldn’t wrap my head around the majority. And second (and I think I’m probably not alone in thinking this), I just don’t like when a book makes me feel like an idiot. Suuure, I like having a solid think as much as the next guy, but you know that feeling when you’re reading through a book and you realise you just don’t (i.e. not even remotely) get what’s going on? And no amount of postulating or pondering or brain jazzercise will get you closer to the point? Yeah the combo of those two reasons – definitely didn’t make for an enjoyable reading experience.

Like I said…woof.

Overall grade: D

Leave a comment

Filed under Red-Headed Step-Children

Leave a Reply

