David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants

D&G

David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants

By: Malcolm Gladwell

Synopsis: You’ve spent your whole life rooting for (or fighting the urge to root for) the underdog. Gladwell smacks you in the face with facts and logic to explain why the underdog might not have it so tough after all.

Thoughts: Well shoot…this is a funny feeling…I don’t really have a whole lot to say about this book (cue me rambling for a paragraph or two to validate that I actually did read the book). David & Goliath sort of went down like angel food cake. You know – it looks good and dense, but then you realize you’ve just digested a whole bunch of air? I guess you could say that Gladwell’s latest book fell somewhat short of memorable.

I liked the overall concept – I mean, who doesn’t like a good underdog story? And I think many of the examples resonated quite strongly with me at the time – education and health care? Bring on the fun! But after finishing the book, I’m left somewhat unaffected by the whole shebang. It was an entertaining read at the time, but I think the examples that Gladwell chose were a tad weaker than his norm. So days later, I’m left feeling somewhat dissatisfied. Angel food cake, I tell ya!

Overall Grade: C+

Leave a comment

Filed under Mediocre Marvins

Leave a Reply

