Bright Lights, Big City

Bright Lights

Bright Lights, Big City by Jay McInerney

Synopsis: A young man takes New York City by storm.

Thoughts: I’m failing you guys so badly here. Life has been extremely hectic lately (ahem, UK visa approved! Woot!!) and I just haven’t carved out any time for my reviews. I finished this book two weeks ago and I’m in struggle city because though I really enjoyed this read, I’m having trouble getting myself back into it.

So the quick and dirty…this book reminded me a tad of Jesus’ Son (probably due more to my just having finished it, rather than any exceptionally significant ties. And since I’m running somewhat on empty here, I’m going to stick with the comparison). The overall themes and subject matter were quite similar, however the glaring difference lay in the tone of the main characters’ thoughts and actions.

While I thought Jesus’ Son was a decent enough book, I enjoyed Bright Lights oh so much more. The narrator in the former was sad and hopeless and I found it difficult to understand where he was coming from. The narrator in Bright Lights is essentially just as pathetic, however there were momentary flashes of positivity, which captured my interest and allowed me to connect with him a little easier.

And for bonus points…in searching for a pic to post, I discovered that this book was turned into a movie in the late 80s with Michael J Fox and Kiefer Sutherland. Now this I’ve gotta see!

Overall Grade: A-

Up Next: The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom

Leave a comment

Filed under Best of the Best

Leave a Reply

