The Rosie Project

The Rosie Project

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Necessary Disclaimer: I realize it’s been quite a while since my last post, and I feel like I need to explain myself a tad. I’ve had a pretty crazy few weeks – impromptu trip out to Australia after my gpa suddenly passed away, followed by another impromptu trip to Charlotte to visit my dad for father’s day. And in the midst of all that, I celebrated my final day of work – and now I will be taking a couple of months off before heading off to Business School in LONDON!! But, you wonderful people, don’t fret – I have been hitting the books pretty hard (planes tend to do that to me). So you’ll have, ohhh, somewhere around 5 reviews coming to you in the next few days. I know, I know…dream come true!!

Synopsis: Professor Don Tillman is on a mission to find a wife, and as a man with Asperger’s,  this proves to be no easy (or typical for that matter) feat. During his “wife project”, Don meets Rosie. And even though she goes against everything Don is looking for in a wife, he still allows himself to get close to her. Don lives for order, but Rosie is about to shake all that up.

Thoughts: I always love hearing tales about when the brain goes a tad haywire – and on top of this being a fascinating subject, I thought the book was very well written. The main character, Professor Don Tillman, is beyond convincing. So much so that I thought this was actually non-fiction. So after finishing the book, I did a little research to see who this guy was – and who is Graeme Simsion since this Don Tillman obviously had to be real. Right?!

Well, sadly the work was complete fiction. Though Simsion obviously did his fair share of research on the subject – and must have spoken to several people with diagnosed Aspergers – Tillman’s character wasn’t based on any single person. And for some reason this turned me off the book a little bit. I know I shouldn’t have let the fictional nature of the book cloud my judgement. But when the book transformed from a true story to a fictional novel, I just felt like it lost some authenticity. Obviously, nothing about the book had changed, so I can’t really fault the story or the author, but I was just a little disappointed.

As a side note, I read this book immediately after having seen the new Star Trek movie (which is awesome by the way – I know this is a book blog, but at this point I hopefully have earned a little credibility. And let me just say, you MUST see that movie!). And I could not for the life of me picture Professor Tillman as anything other than Spock. Slightly distracting, but at least I had a good mental picture!

Overall Grade: B+

Up Next: The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Leave a comment

Filed under Mediocre Marvins

Leave a Reply

