Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owl

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

Synopsis: Follow David Sedaris through his ridiculous adventures. Adventures that must evoke for him a feeling of “why me?” and “my life is a strange and twisted sit-com”.

Thoughts: I used to really love David Sedaris… Womp womp. I guess that doesn’t bode very well for this book does it…”used to love” – that’s never a good sign? And now I feel a bit bad. Long story short – it wasn’t amazing, but not a disappointment either. I guess you could say I was just whelmed.

The first Sedaris book that I read absolutely tickled my funny bone. As in laugh out loud tickled during just about every chapter. But sadly I’ve enjoyed each book after that just a little bit less. I think he has toned down on some of the more ridiculous stories (which were my favorites) and has upped the cynical factor. I know a lot of those cynical comments make Sedaris who he is, but it just gets to be a little much for me sometimes.

I couldn’t stop thinking about how much Sedaris’ style has changed over the years while I was reading his latest. And then, *poof* it’s like he read my mind and started talking about this in one of his chapters. He admits that he used to only include those ridiculous stories (of course, the ones I enjoyed most), but now he’s at a point where he can write about what he wants. He can include some of the less out-there stories so his stories remain a little more in line with his everyday life.

So, is it worth reading this? I would say start with his early stuff. And if you’ve already done that, then yes – it’s worth the read. There are still those laugh-out-loud moments, but they’re just a little less frequent. Above all, Sedaris is an awesome storyteller. And I think I respect him more for allowing his writing to shift to reflect his true self…although I do miss some of those absurd tales of his.

Overall Grade: B

Up Next: To the End of the Land by David Grossman

Leave a comment

Filed under Mediocre Marvins

Leave a Reply

