Too Bright to Heart Too Loud to See

Too Bright

Too Bright to Hear Too Loud to See by Juliann Garey

Synopsis: Three separate time periods paint the picture of Greyson Todd, a successful ex-Hollywood executive turned bipolar vagabond. We bear witness to the events in Greyson’s past that resulted in a rock-bottom type of present.

Thoughts: Regardless of what I thought about this story, I have to start with a disclaimer. I really wish I had read the synopsis before embarking on the book’s journey to crazy land. As a frequenter of the library, I often have to wait quite a while between putting books on hold and actually receiving them. And sadly, my little noggin cannot retain synopsis information for more than about 5 minutes, so if I don’t re-read the synopsis, I’m essentially going in blind. Now having said that, I’ll admit I rarely re-read synopses. Too often they give away huge plot points and I think it spoils some of the fun. But in this particular case, the synopsis would have served as a necessary intro. Or perhaps the book could have benefited from a quick preface.

…Or maybe I’m just a little slow on the uptake for some of these less-than-straightforward books.

So onto the book. I guess you could say it aged well. As you may be able to tell, I spent about the first half of the book being quite confused – grappling with the time jumps and the abrupt journeys into the land of the bipolar.  But once I got the hang of the time flips, I started to thoroughly enjoy myself.

And then I was hooked. Sadly, I got hooked right at the end, but whatever people – the hooking happened!! My absolute favorite part (and the part that justified my being confused for half the book) was the resolution. It was incredible! I wish the whole story centered around this particular story line – although I suppose the background to the story really elevated this part to another level.

Definitely worth the read (especially that synopsis!!).

Overall Grade: A-

Up Next: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Leave a comment

Filed under Best of the Best

Leave a Reply

